Oldfield Primary School & Nursery part of the Brontë Academy Trust

Putting Children First

Part of Bronte Academy Trust

Protected characteristics at Oldfield 





What are protected characteristics?

The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Everyone in Britain is protected. This is because the Equality Act protects people against discrimination because of the protected characteristics that we all have. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

Gender reassignment
Religion or belief
Marriage or civil partnership
Sexual orientation
Pregnancy and maternity

At Oldfield, we actively promote these in our curriculum and work to embed them into our ethos.

Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:

When you are in the workplace
When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)
When you use businesses and other organizations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)
When you use transport
When you join a club or association (for example, your local rugby club)
When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments